Snowglobe

That night, everyone agreed to be still. Front doors stood firm, no one opened them lest the snow be swept aside, or clumsy boots crunch holes in it. The thought of tire tracks was repugnant, made us squint and shake our head. Peace was spreading, or rather falling, and leveling out over crushed beer cans and broken glass. That night, as snow fell, it covered our ugliness and gave us the illusion of peace, pristine and quiet. We wanted to it to be real, if only for a night.

january-snowfall-nighttime

 posted for the friday fictioneers thingy

12 thoughts on “Snowglobe

  1. That’s pretty. More of that, please! We have some half-hearted flakes falling now, kind of nice and whimsical. Kind of like when I shake my head fast and it falls on my shoulders.

    Like

  2. Lovely, Walt. Nothing like a thick snowfall. We don’t really get them in the /south West of England – very rare – but when I was growing up further north, where my mum lives it was a regular occurence, walking a silent road, only the crunch of your own boots and the shush of the flakes falling. Silent and clean – at least until the thaw. Your story brought all that back and added a fairytale feel to the memory. Wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lynn. We don’t get them in Texas, but we had them for the four years we lived in Ohio and for the year I lived in Poland. Glad I experienced them but I kind of like the mild winters and hot summers I grew up with and am used to. As calm and serene as a blanket of snow can be, I never could get the hang of gearing up just to go outside. I’m a shorts and flip flops guy, myself! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What has it got in its pocketses?

