The Buffer Post

image: colourbox.com

image: colourbox.com

Much to my delight, a post of mine was featured on Freshly Pressed last week. I visit FP on a regular basis, and the quality of the work always impresses, so it was an honor to be included.

I’ve written a lot over the years, but I’ve shared little of it. Some of it has been goofy, some it good-ish, some of it risible, some of it I’m rather proud of. But I’ve never written anything that was as emotionally powerful as My Time Machine was for me. I will share something with you now semi-freely, semi-unsure whether I should. Here it is: At times while writing that post, I had my face in my hands, wet with tears. That was the most raw I’ve ever felt while writing, and I had reservations about posting it. But post I did, hoping it would resonate with others, too. If it hadn’t, well, that would have sucked.

Anyone who writes knows how hard it is to capture emotion in words. We have labels like “love” or “anger” which we can stamp on things, but these words pack no feeling of their own. Other words we can line up hoping to ignite those feelings, but sometimes we fail. Sometimes we fumble the words, and as we try to get control of them the feeling we wanted to share flickers out. Sometimes, though, we feel like we’ve gotten it right – like we’ve hit the right notes, and feel truth pouring out.

In writing that one, I felt I’d hit the notes I needed to hit for me. I felt truth pouring out. And that was mostly enough.

Mostly.

Your response moved the needle from mostly to absolutely enough. One reason I’m writing is to thank you all – very much – for letting me know, by reading, liking, reblogging, and especially commenting, that I’d hit some notes that resonated for you too. 

To the many new readers and writers who’ve followed since Friday, I want to say that the next post will not be anything like that last one. Another one will come at some point, but what I had in the pipeline this week was, to paraphrase Monty Python, something completely different. I hope you all like Metallica, because I’ve squeezed the band’s entire 30 year history, their rise and fall, their resurrection, and some other nonsense, into just a few hundred words. And I know all of you can’t wait to -….

Hello? Readers…? Where are you going…?

Yes, I considered whether it would be unwise to shift gears so drastically after so many new follows. If not unwise, then definitely un-strategic. Give the people what they came for, right?

Well, I’ve decided I can’t. Were I to think that way every time I posted, the writing would come out false. I would be writing what I think you want to read, and that would be a disaster. If I thought that way, I might not have written My Time Machine. That was for me. It was my obsession that week. This week I’m obsessed with Ride the Lightning, and I’m feeling goofier, less dramatic. If you’ve read my About page, you might understand. If you haven’t, this little Buffer Post may help us both along.

One final thing.

I’ve learned something about you.

Yes you. All of you. It is this: We have something in common.

I know this because I visited you. If you left a comment, I clicked over to your site (unless you didn’t have one, or hid it very well). On some of your sites, I saw immediately what we had in common. On others I had to dig a bit. But on each of your blogs, I found something of yours that resonated with me, without exception. Isn’t that very cool? I’ve tried to include what this was in my replies to your comments, as well as on your page, so you would know, but it’s here in this post that I think the bigger picture is best revealed.

What I’m trying to say is, I’d like you all to stick around, and I just wanted to let you know before I post my silly Metallica thingy here in a little bit.

Your comments are most welcome. Thanks for reading.

Sincerely,

Walt

 

 

26 thoughts on “The Buffer Post

  1. I suppose every blogger wonders whether they should change their writing to please an imaginary audience, but I think it’s best to be honest to yourself. Otherwise, you’re just generating clickbait.
    One thing I like about blogging is that it is still new territory. We create our own reality. In other fields, people will say a certain book or magazine should have a particular content. On a blog, we can mix fiction with fact, fan articles with reviews, rants with personal reminisces. You never know what you’re going to get from one week to the next, and that’s the way I like it.
    Perhaps in the future, people will look back at our time as the early days of blogging when everything goes, but I hope it will stay like this forever.

    Like

  2. I was drawn to your blog with your Freshly Pressed post (as many were I’m sure) but it is actually this post that resonates with me more. Because I’m relatively new to blogging in many ways, and keep finding myself wondering about the audience aspect of things. Who am I writing my blog for? And now that people are actually looking at it some, do I keep writing about the same kind o things, or is it okay to mix it up and be true to what I originally planned with this whole blogging thing?
    Thank you for this post — I look forward to seeing more 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts. There are all kinds of Rules for Blogging out there, and we can follow them if we want. Or not follow them. Some people want hordes of followers. Others are happy with a handful of readers with whom they connect more deeply. Fortunately there’s room for everyone.

      Like

    • Well I’m afraid you have me at a disadvantage, Old Sport. By now you know a bit more about me than I do about you. Quirky humor? A tendency to mask and unveil at times of our choosing? I’m sure I don’t know, actually. I do have a battle axe. And a boomerang. Have you one of those?

      Like

  3. It is magnificent. And imported from its continent of origin. And currently in a box in the basement somewhere. Kind of like the Arc of the Covenant in that movie with Indiana Ford.

    Like

What has it got in its pocketses?

